Four Nigerian writers are among the authors on the race for this year’s Commonwealth Writer’s Prize:
Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani was shortlisted in the Best First Book (Africa) category for her debut novel, I Do Not Come To You By Chance.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie has also been shortlisted for Best Book for her collection of short stories titled TheThing Around Your Neck. She had in 2005 won Best First Book overall prize with her novel, Purple Hibiscus.

Kachi A. Ozumba, author of The Shadow of a Smile and Abidemi Sanusi, author of Eyo are two UK-based Nigerian authors who have also been shortlisted for Best Book and Best First Book respectively.

The Commonwealth Writers’ Prize has been considered as one of the world’s most important literary awards, presented annually by the Commonwealth Foundation with the support of the Macquarie Group Foundation.